Baby, it’s cold outside…

So before I start talking about this delicious turkey chili let me just say 2 things:

1.  I didn’t take as many pics of the prep process as I would have liked for this recipe.  I was also making the carrot cake cookies and unfortunately they cast a huge shadow.  Plus this is pretty much just throwing a bunch of stuff together!  

2.  Does anyone know where I can find the last item here on my grocery list???

So it was for reals -1 here on Friday.  Perfect day for chili…I was using a different turkey chili recipe and it was my go to, but I decided to be brave!  I found this one by searching simple turkey chili on Google.  It is by a woman named Amanda and has become my favorite recipe after making it 1 time.  Check out the nutritional info.

Click here for Amanda’s Recipe

I did change a couple of things, whoa I almost passed out typing that.  Side note: 2 months ago I would have NEVER in a zillion years attempted to alter a recipe.  

I sautéed my onions with my turkey and I had to use garlic powder because I was out of garlic ( I know right…that almost sent me over the edge) .  I also let mine cook in the crockpot on low for a few hours.  That is one of my favorite things about this recipe is that it is pretty versatile in how it can cook.

  I was surprised at the flavor of this.  I am a habitual under seasoner- it’s like a cooking disorder.  I always get afraid that I’m going to over season and end up doing just the opposite.  Proud to say I seasoned this one awesomely.  I had enough left for lunch for everyone in the fam.  And my little picky girl loved it!  It was not too spicy at all.

Here are a few action shots:

My turkey and onions

My concoction waiting for said turkey and onion to be added ( I did drain the meat mixture before adding)

I topped mine with aged artisan cheddar from Aldi and plain Greek yogurt. Perfect for a cold winter dinner!

Hope you make it and enjoy!

Stay warm and healthy!

Emily and Crew

Leave a Reply

