6 Ingredient Healthy Peanut Butter Cups

* sorry if this is poorly written, it was done in the company of a crankster 3 year old

Ok so this recipe is totally an adaptation from one I found on Pinterest.  There are protein packed peanut butter cups, but everything is mixed together.  You don’t get the yummy peanut butter center like in these ones.  I was surprised at how easy it was to adapt the recipe so it would make these.  I think it took me about 4 tries but I finally got tasty, kid approved ones!

Here is the preparation process.  I’ll include my adapted recipe below.

So those are the ingredients!  Can you believe it’s only 6???

So I took the peanut butter, protein powder and vanilla and mixed them together.  My goal was to make it think enough with the powder that I could form patties out of them.  I also added honey to taste to give it a little more sweetness.  When I say to taste, I literally sat there and tasted after every little pour.  It was very depressing …. NOT!  In the end I wish I would have added more protein powder because the peanut butter mixture was a bit sticky.

Next I combined the melted coconut butter, cocoa and honey to taste to create the chocolate shell.    Again, really important that you taste the mixture.  The cocoa is unsweetened so very bitter and not pleasant unless given a little pizazz.

I poured a little of the chocolate on the bottom of each cupcake liner.

Then I put in the peanut butter.

And topped it off with more chocolate.

Let these babies freeze for 15 minutes and they are done!

I couldn’t wait to try so the peanut butter mixture inside looks softer than it would if I let it go the 15 min.

The Recipe for Peanut Butter Cups – I made 6 giant ones. 

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 scoop protein powder (I used Douglas Labs Ultra Protein Plus Vanilla)

1 1/2 tsp of vanilla 

Honey, to taste – no seriously you actually have to try as you go 

1/4 cup cocoa powder

4 tbs coconut oil, melted

1.  Line a cupcake pan with 6 liners on your choice. 

2.  In a bowl, combine peanut butter, protein powder, vanilla and honey.  Your mixture will be thick.  I like to be able to form mine into patties.  Just make sure it is not super sticky.  Adding a little more protein powder will help.  Divide into 6 patties.

3.  Mix cocoa powder, melted coconut oil and honey to taste.

4.  Add a little of the chocolate to the bottom of the lines.

5.  Add peanut butter mixture patties or drop them by the spoon.

6.  Add more chocolate to top off the peanut butter.  You may have to make more chocolate depending on how big you make them. 

7.  Let them freeze for 15 min. 

A couple notes:  

Coconut oil melts at 76 degrees F.  These are best left in the freezer until eaten.

Please keep in mind I am not a professional recipe writer.

These bad boys are huge.  I have been eating half of them at a time.  I’ll be working on a smaller version.

If you decide to make them, lmk how it goes.  My 6 year old said they taste like Reese’s.  I’m not confirming or denying, but they are delish!

Yours in Health!

Emily and Crew

Leave a Reply

