Meatless Option, oh did I mention oh so cheap BlackBean Burgers

I haven’t been able to blog for a few weeks.  A new semester started which means craziness!  But I just want to say…

Now on to the food!Hiding in that amazingly crisp romaine is a deliciously cheap black bean burger.  I was buying Morningstar farms frozen chipotle ones because I’d convinced myself it must be impossible to make burgers from black beans.  I was wrong and I am so happy.  They were very easy to make and I had all of the ingredients lying around my house.

I got the recipe from Tastes Better From Scratch

The ingredients are:  a can of black beans which by the way costs less than $1.  An onion, green pepper, an egg scrambled, whole wheat bread crumbs and some spices.

Oh yeah, don’t forget my favorite!  The garlic!!!  Anywho I used my fancy pampered chef hand chopper to do this:

Then I utilized this super expensive metal thingy to do this:

Scrambled up some eggs

Starting combining these three things:

Added in the spices and bread crumbs like so and mixed:This mixture formed some great patties and they did not fall apart!  

I actually wrapped mine in lettuce in place of using a bun.  This goes great with Greek yogurt on top as sour cream!  The recipe includes a chipotle mayo recipe which I did not make because I didn’t have some of those things lying around and I substituted Greek yogurt.  I always use good old G Y as S C.

End product pics:

Yummy!  We use this as a meatless option instead of buying frozen ones. I don’t think I spent more than $3.00 to make these either.  Those are Alexa Sweet Potato fries on the side 😄

Here is the recipe link Black Bean Burgers

Hope you enjoy!  Yours in Health,

Emily and Crew

Leave a Reply

