Healthy BBQ Chicken Pizza 

I promised my sweets next….but then this happened….

I have been meticulously trying to plan what I eat each day.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it fails but I try.  Today for lunch was to be tuna salad on a sandwich thin.  I didn’t get to eat breakfast so all I could think about was the amazingly delicious tuna salad.  I went to the fridge…gasp…the thins were gone.  The hubs took them to work for lunch!  Like he needs to eat too?! Any who…I saw some random thin pizza crusts and made a plan.  Healthy BBQ Chicken Pizza – my favorite from Papa John’s.  

People- I actually made this without a recipe. I just made it!  This is huge progress for me!  I have never just randomly put things together.  My cooking practice is paying off big time!  I used my left over Patti Labelle deliciousness, some of this leftover cheese, half a sweet onion, some turkey bacon, a chicken breast and a whole wheat thin crust.

Obligatory ingredient pics:





This is pretty straight forward.  Cook up the bacon sorta crispy and grill up the chicken breast.  I used my Foreman Grill.  Slice up your onion.



I put mine directly on the rack.



Here is the finished product:





It was delicious.  Definitely a great alternative to the Delivery option.

This added up to 168 calories on my fitness pal for 1/6 of the pizza.  I added the specifics directly into here and created my recipe.



Papa John’s BBQ Chicken on thin crust (this is on a 14″ crust instead of 12″)  



It took me about the same amount of time to make this as it would of for them to deliver it, but I spent less money and ate less junk.

Let me know what you think.  This is obviously customizable.  I’d love to see what you do with it!

The Recipe

Ingredients

1-2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, grilled

1/2 sweet onion, sliced

5 strips low sodium turkey bacon

3/4 cup low skim shredded mozzarella ( more or less depending what you want)

3-4 tbsp bbq sauce

1 whole wheat thin crust

Little bit of olive oil

Process

1.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Grill your chicken and cook up your bacon using the method of your choice.  Slice your onion.  Make sure to cube or shred your chicken after it is finished grilling,

2.  Prepare the thin crust by adding a small amount of olive oil to the top.

3.  Brush or spread the BBQ sauce on the pizza crust.

4.  Layer with chicken, onion and bacon.

5.  Top with cheese.

6.  Bake for 7-10 minutes and Enjoy.

Yours in Health,

The Crew and I



Leave a Reply

